Review: Yankee Candle Wax Tart Spring/Summer Fragrances

A few weeks ago I went into my local House of Fraser to sniff the latest Yankee Candle seasonal offerings. I prefer to burn the tarts because they are so much cheaper than candles and I think they fill the room better with the scent than small candles do. If you don’t know what wax tarts are, they’re essentially just chunks of wax that you put into a tart burner and the melting of the wax produces the scent. I think that it’s a great way to try out scents because they are so inexpensive ( around Β£1.25) and you could always buy a big candle at a later date if you particularly like the scent. Anyway, House of Fraser were pushing a few scents in particular (giving you 25% off RRP) so I assumed these would be the newly released Spring scents, however I don’t think they are this years official releases. That being said all three are definitely spring time/summery scents, so here’s what I thought of them…….

Pineapple Cilantro, Waikiki Melon and Beach Flowers Tarts

Pineapple Cilantro, Waikiki Melon and Beach Flowers Tarts

Waikiki Melon

This scent is described as juicy melon with a touch of sweet orange oil. When melted this tart has a really noticeably strong and sweet melon scent. I don’t think you can really smell the orange much but I have no complaints about this. The scent filled my living room (which is on the larger side) with a beautiful fruity scent that was, in my opinion, the perfect summer scent. It made me think of sitting at a bar on the beach somewhere lovely and warm, i.e. a million miles away from Britain.

Pineapple Cilantro

This was by far my least favourite scent of the three. It actually didn’t remind me of a pineapple scent at all and smelt more to me like a “pina colada” sort of scent. It was still nice but not really what I was expecting and itΒ  reminded me of those classic car freshener scents that we have in the UK ( you know the little tree shaped ones) which wasn’t really what I wanted my living room to smell like. I thought that compared to the previous scent it wasn’t nearly as strong and didn’t fill the room with the scent very well as after a few hours it was still only just noticeable.

Beach Flowers

My favourite scent of the three tarts. This is meant to be “tuberose, lily and hyacinth blossoms balanced with soft watery notes” and I think it matches this description really well when burnt. The melting tart filled my living room with the most delicate lily and rose type scent which I think is the perfect spring scent. I personally love the smell of lilies so this was always going to be the one that I fell in love with. What I like most about this scent is that it fills the room nicely but it’s such a delicate scent and not a really overpowering synthetic flower smell like a lot of air fresheners can be.

So there we have it, some spring/summer scents to please your nose πŸ™‚

 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

